Just to Say, “I Love You”

Hello everyone! Today I would like to share the song “My Tree” by Chris Rice with you in celebration of Good Friday. The song is  about Jesus’s love for us and how he should us that love when he died for our sins. It compares his dying on a cross to a little boy carving a heart on a tree to sh0w how much he loves a little girl. The little boy’s heart was a public declaration of his love for the girl, just like Jesus’s death was a public declaration of his love for us. He suffered through being brutally whipped and tortured, simply to say, “I love you.”

 

My Tree by Chris Rice

On a hill far away stands a tall, mighty tree
Where a boy and girl used to take turns pushing the tire swing
I remember the pocketknife in hand
And her name in my heart
And thinkin’ there ain’t no way for a boy to contain
The love that he feels inside
So I carved her name into my tree
Then I carved a heart around her name
Then I carved an arrow through the heart
Just to say “I love you”

Now on a hill far away stood an old rugged cross
The emblem of suffering and shame
I remember the nails through my hands
And your name in my heart
And how in their wordless way the nails explain
The love that I feel inside
As they carved your name into my tree
Where I wrapped my heart around your name
Then I took your arrow through my heart
Just to say “I love you”
Just to say “I love you”

Now I can never forget how much you mean to me
‘Cause I will always remember whenever I see

Where I carved your name into my tree
Where I wrapped my heart around your name
Then I took your arrow through my heart
Just to say “I love you”
Just to say “I love you”

 

For those of you who are viewing this on the blog, and not your email, I have also included the YouTube video.

 

~Ally

 

Leave a Reply

